The Virginia General Assembly dates from the establishment of the House of Burgesses at Jamestown in 1619. It is heralded by Virginians as the "oldest continuous law-making body in the New World."

The 1776 Virginia Constitution confirmed our bicameral legislature, which consists of the House of Delegates and Senate of Virginia. All members of the General Assembly are elected by qualified voters within their respective House and Senate districts. The terms of office are two years for members of the House and four years for members of the Senate. Members may not hold any other public office during their term of office.

The General Assembly's chief responsibilities are to represent citizens in the formulation of public policy, enact laws of the Commonwealth, approve the budget, levy taxes, elect judges and confirm appointments by the Governor.

The General Assembly meets at the State Capitol in Richmond during the first two months of every year. It may also be convened for a "special session" if requested by the Governor. During a biennial budget year, the Assembly session typically runs an additional 15 days.

The House of Delegates consists of 100 members. Each member represents approximately 71,000 citizens. The term of office for a member of the House of Delegates is two years. Each member receives an annual salary of $17,640.

House of Delegates Topics

© 2004-2024, Jeffrey M. Frederick All rights reserved ®
Technology by GXS Strategies

Not paid for at taxpayer expense.